The Friends of Nore Barn Woods

Minutes of the 17th Annual General Meeting

Held on the foreshore on Saturday 13th July 2019 at 11.00 am in hot weather.

23 attendees

Roy Ewing(Chair), Pam Ewing (Treasurer), Susie Hamblen (Secretary), Valerie Bowers, Mike Thomas, Doug Outram, Sally Outram, Hilary Munro, Maggie Gebbett, Martin Gebbett, Brendan Gibb-Gray, Shaun Hamblen, Peter Perchard, Gwen Perchard, Rob Foord, Henry Christian, Margriet Christian, Brenda Cottis, Barry King-Smith, Alan Davies + 3 others.

8 apologies

Madeleine Cox, John and Clare Jury, Anne Fox- Robinson, Steve Leniston, Zena Chaddock, Roger Chaddock, Maureen Twitchen.

Minutes of 2018 AGM

Read out by Pam Ewing. A motion to accept the minutes was proposed by Valerie Bowers and was passed unanimously.

Treasurer's Report

Accounts for year ending 31 December 2018 were presented by the Treasurer:

Balance in bank: £11,724 + SWUP £3995

Spend: £219

The motion to accept the accounts was proposed by Hilary Munro and was passed unanimously.

Chairman's Report

This was given by the Chairman. See separate document.

Motions

The Chairman introduced a member's motion by giving the background to the project known as SWUP (Solent Way Upgrade Project). The motion (proposed by Sally Outram and seconded by Zena Chaddock) was as follows:

"That no funds from the Friends of Nore Barn Woods should in any form be given to construct a new longer bridge over Nore Stream or an extension of the raised ledge/path attached to the seawall, owned by Maisemore Gardens Limited, without the Trustees putting a Resolution to the Friends/Members at a General Meeting."

The reasons for the motion were set out by Sally Outram, and a discussion followed. A statement on the background to SWUP and the involvement of Natural England was made by Maggie Gebbett. Roy Ewing (speaking as an individual) spoke against the motion. Martin Gebbett also spoke against the motion, advocating trust in the committee.

A vote was taken: 3 for, 18 against, 2 abstentions.

The motion was not passed.

Election of Trustees

The existing committee were prepared to stand again. The candidates were as follows:

Chairman: Roy Ewing Treasurer: Pam Ewing Secretary: Susie Hamblen

Committee members: John Jury, Clare Jury and Madeleine Cox

The motion to elect the committee was proposed by Brendan Gibb-Gray and was passed unanimously bar one abstention.

Any Other Business

Doug Outram queried access to the north wood, following the fence and gate which had been installed. He claimed that several families in Maisemore Gardens wished to access the shore via the wood. However, at the AGM, there was strong support for the fence from the Perchards and Barry King-Smith (both of whom are Maisemore Garden residents whose properties back on to the wood), because of the security situation. The Chairman also stated that Council had given permission for, and supported, the existence of the gate and fence and that the Council, who owns the north wood, considers that there was no public right of access.

Vote of thanks

Rob Foord proposed a vote of thanks to the Chairman and Committee, followed by a round of applause from those present.

The Chairman closed the AGM at 11:59am